Classic Stars 5th birthday boy card

This is the birthday card I made for the other party my daughter went to on the weekend. Connor also turned 5!

dsc00317

I love the Classic Stars jumbo wheel and this is the first card I’ve made where I’ve embossed it. I think I’ll emboss it more often! I think the gold looks fab!

I wanted to use the Outlaw DSP for Connor’s card, and so I based my colours around the Outlaw paper, picking a pattern from Outlaw that worked with the Classic Stars (and wasn’t too overwhelming!). So the colours are Very Vanilla, Gold (Versamark with Gold Embossing Powder), Chocolate Chip, Really Rust and Sage Shadow.

A boy’s card is always hard to make and I find you can’t really put pretty ribbon on a boy’s card, don’t you think? Anyway, the new 1″ wide double stitched grosgrain (available in the Summer Mini) lends itself to a boy’s card and I dared to try it! I then added the Antique Brass Hodgepodge to frame ‘birthday boy’. Again, I think the Antique Brass Hodgepodge lends itself to a masculine card. The ‘birthday boy’ words came from the stamp set Everyday Flexible Phrases.

dsc003201

I cut the number 5 out, from Best Friends Numbers, after I stamped it onto Very Vanilla cardstock. Then I used dimensionals to stick it to the Sage Shadow cardstock I had punched out with my Round Tab punch, and layered with Chocolate Chip cardstock. It’s been a while since I’ve used my Crop-a-dile, but the New Year is providing good fun already and I used it here! The eyelets are from the Metallic Eyelets and are matching Antique Brass. Don’t you love the way Stampin’ Up! products coordinate!! It makes card making so much easier when everything coordinates.

I finally hung the ‘5’ from ‘birthday boy’ using Stampin’ Up!’s linen thread.

Thanks for looking 🙂

Leave a Reply

