A Wedding invitation’s journey

I have a beautiful sister who is getting married in Canberra on the first weekend in December … and she asked me to make her wedding invitations.  Truly a privilege 🙂

Anyway, I thought I would share with you the journey we had together in coming to a final design for her wedding invitation.  We had to be creative even in reaching a decision as Cath lives in Canberra and I live in Sydney.  So here goes!  

We began with a colour scheme – hers being grey and pink.   Then I emailed her a few pictures of wedding cards on my blog, and some from the ever-reliable www.splitcoaststampers.com.  These cards gave her ideas on stamp sets and sizes.  She emailed me a few of her favourite stamp sets and from there I mocked up a first sample inviation.  Now, as silver is very close to grey and silver paper has such a lovely shimmer, the first invitation was in silver.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I started with a narrow card with a band.  The base was silver cardstock and I layered it with Whisper White on which I’d stamped in Versamark the gorgeous flourish from the Baroque Motifs stamp set.  Then I embossed the flourish with silver embossing powder.

 The band was made with a strip of Whisper White textured cardstock and then layered with two Curvy Label punched out pieces, Scallop Cirle punched with silver cardstock and Wide Oval.   I stamped the a corner from a Vintage Labels (retired) stamp in Melon Mambo and then lastly added two pearls.

I’ll be back tomorrow with a few more samples.

Thanks for looking 🙂

Leave a Reply

